Middleton Towers was part of the Lynn and Dereham railway which closed in 1968, being the first stop on the line before East Winch.
In the 1990s, there was a brief but ultimately unsuccessful proposal to restore passenger services to Middleton Towers following a housing development at Leziate.
The Lynn & Dereham Railway
The line itself ran from King's Lynn to Dereham. Swaffham station had an interchange for the Crab and Winkle line (Swaffham branch line) to Roudham Junction. At Dereham, the line had connections to Wymondham (now the Mid-Norfolk Railway) and north towards Wells-next-the-sea via Fakenham East. King's Lynn had connections to Hunstanton on the Norfolk coast on the Great Eastern Railway and also to Spalding via the Midland & Great Northern line via South Lynn station, which closed to passengers in 1959.
The Station & Architecture
The main station building is situated next to the station's level crossing and has a slate roof. The platform boasts a covered shelter. The platform was raised in 1882 and may have been extended from its original size. The area of the platform near the booking office was retained to prevent having to move the door, with a ramp added up to the new level. It is assumed there was a general waiting room, that the GER (Great Eastern Railway) referred to as a 'Ladies Waiting Room'.
A Stephen's 21 lever signal box was installed to the west of the level crossing on the down side. This was removed after the station's closure.
Development of Trade & Industry
In 1883, authorities granted permission to load and offload horses at the station and cattle pens were eventually built. As the coal and sand industries developed, a siding was built for Bagge, a local merchant and this featured a siding and head-shunt. There was a sandpit which was believed to be connected by a 2 foot narrow gauge railway. J Boam & Sons dominated the sand traffic trade in the area.